go to homepage

“For the People”

Archive for the ‘Commentary’ Category

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 5th December, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” as we pay homage to an incomparable living legend: Richard Wayne Penniman. Little Richard goes 85 on the 5th December–and he looks stunning. Additionally, there will be ticket offerings for Keiko Matsui (http://www.keikomatsui.com) and Euge Groove (http://www.eugegroove.com), who team up this week at Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com). That and more, Tuesday the 5th December, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: December 5th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“Fo the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 28th November, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People”. Multiple award-winning musician, composer, arranger and conductor, Gordon Goodwin (http://www.gordongoodwin.com), joins us to talk about Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band, an 18-piece orchestra performing this week at Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com), and yes—Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band does have a very phat sound. Also, exceptionally creative twins Kehinde and Taiwo Kujichagulia–Seitu come in to discuss the upcoming sixth annual tribute to Harriet Tubman, as well as the second annual Jazzy Nutcracker, set to Ellington’s “Nutcracker Suite.” And, going to get back to the 21st November, celebrating the birthday of David Porter, while remembering the true boogie-woogie queen, Hadda Brooks. That and more, Tuesday the 28th November, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: November 28th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday the 14th November 2017, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Events of note include the first Black child, Ruby Bridges, and her brave role to integrate the first Louisiana elementary school on the 14th November 1960. Got more music from the newly-released CD, “Instinct,” featuring the Caesar Frazier Quartet on Doodlin’ Records. There are plenty birthdays on the 14th November, including the 83rd birthday of pianist Ellis Marsalis (www.ellismarsalis.com). And we remember the crossing over of Booker T. Washington and Gwen Ifill. Hear that and more on KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday the 14th November 2017, between 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com). Oh, and notable events for the week: on the 14th November, SF State School of Music present A/B Duo New Music in a free concert at the Knuth Music Hall, SF State University at 7:30pm; on the 15th November, Petula Clark (www.petulaclark.net) celebrates her 85th birthday at the Blue Note Napa (www.bluenotenapa.com) at 6.30pm and 8.30pm; on the 16th November, La Pena Cultural Centre (www.lapena.org) will highlight Young People’s Mic at 6pm (designed specifically for youth under 18); on the 17th November, the Kuumbwa Jazz Centre in Santa Cruz (www.kuumbwajazz.org) will host Bill Frisell (www.billfrisell.com) at 7pm and 9pm; on the 18th November, Guarandinga: Latin Afro-Pop appear at the Red Poppy Art House in San Francisco (www.redpoppyarthouse.org) at 7pm; on the 19th November, the Fred Randolph Quintet (www.fredrandolph.com) step forth at the Sound Room in Oakland (www.soundroom.org) at 2.30pm; and on the 20th November, the UC Jazz Fall Concert 50th Anniversary Year Celebration will happen at the Freight and Salvage in Berkeley (www.thefreight.org) at 8pm.
Posted on: November 12th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 7th November 2017, “For the People,” 4pm – 6pm, PST. Sharing a conversation between Afrikahn Jahmal Dayvs (https://jzl1.wordpress.com), Mads Tolling (www.madstolling.com), and Graal Swartz of the Soul Mechanix (www.soulmechanix.com). Just back back from the farewell celebration for Fats Domino, our in-studio guest, Mitch Woods (www.mitchwoods.com), joins us to talk about that, his new CD and an upcoming performance at Biscuits and Blues (www.biscuitsandblues.com). There will be ticket giveaways for both Biscuits and Blues as well as Yoshi’s )www.yoshis.com). That and more Tuesday the 7th November, on KPOO, San Francisco, “For the People,” 4pm – 6pm, PST. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: November 7th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 31 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD–Instinct–by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). Then, it will be nearly two hours of bewitching, ghostly, grueling and haunting sounds on All Hallows’ Eve. Hear that and more, Tuesday the 31st October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Co-hosted and co-produced by Rockin’ Jim Rigsbee (grooveyardjim1@yahoo.com) and Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 31st, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 24 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD, Instinct, by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). We pay homage to Grady Tate (http://www.gradytate.com), who joined the ancestors earlier this month. During the second half of the programme, Bay Area treasure, R & B legend, composer/arranger, drummer/percussionist and singer/songwriter Larry Vann (http://www.larryvann.com) joins us in-studio to discuss his upcoming performance. That and more, Tuesday the 24th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 23rd, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 17 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear new music from the newly recorded CD, “Instinct,” by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). Meklit (http://www.meklitmusic.com) joins us in-studio to discuss her upcoming performance Friday the 20th at the New Parish in Oakland (http://www.thenewparish.com). There will be ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com), which features the monthly visit from resident artist Tommy Igoe (http://www.tommyigoe.com). Other events to look forward to this week include: the Don Alberts Trio (http://www.donalberts.com) Tuesday the 17th at Mr. Tipple’s Recording Studio (http://www.mrtipplessf.com); Randy Weston (http://www.randyweston.info) Wednesday the 18th at the SF Conservatory of Music; Lavay Smith & Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers (http://www.lavaysmith.com) Saturday the 21st at Biscuits and Blues (http://biscuitsandblues.com); and Folk Fights Back Bay Area for Racial Justice Sunday 22nd at the Back Room in Berkeley (http://www.backroommusic.com), a benefit for racial justice to support the Ella Baker Centre, featuring artists like the Oakland Youth Chorus (http://www.oaklandyouthchorus.org), and the Dynamic Miss Faye Carol (http://www.fayecarol.com). Hear about that and more, Tuesday the 17th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 17th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to KPOO, San Francisco, 89.5FM (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 25th July, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People,” with in-studio guest author Bev Atchison. Sausalito Arts Festival is coming up early September, so we feature past performer and multiple Grammy award winner, Jimmy Cliff, who is celebrating a birthday. Got ticket offerings for Yoshi’s, as well as commentary and more. Hear it all Tuesday the 25th July on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: July 25th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

The 20th June is “International World Refugee Day”. It is also Martyr Day in Eritrea. Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”, as we remember the Detroit Race Riots of 1943, the independence of the Mali Federation in 1960, and the 45th anniversary of the “Watergate Scandal”. We salute the birthdays of several: activist, attorney and author Charles Waddell Chesnutt; trumpeter Thomas Jefferson; reed player and composer, Eric Dolphy; Billy Guy of “The Coasters”; singer, songwriter and producer Brian Wilson; pianist/educator Andre Watts; pianist, singer, songwriter, producer and actor Lionel Ritchie; poet and social philosopher, Athol Williams; and rapper Sage the Gemini. We remember the late Lawrence Payton of the Four Tops. Events for the week include: Denise Perrier (www.deniseperrier.com)@ Castagnoli’s Restaurant & Bar, 5pm – 8pm, Tuesday the 20th; Paul Thom Hammer & Nail 20th Anniversary Tour@The Freight and Salvage (www.thefreight.org) Wednesday the 21st; Topsy’s Fun House (www.topsyssf.com) has live music, food and fun Thursday the 22nd; Fall 2017 entering 8th graders to 12th graders can get either free drum or free guitar lessons at the Mix@SFPL–Main Branch, 4pm – 4.30pm, Friday the 23rd; La Peña’s 42nd Year Anniversary Party – Pasto Seco Band & Monreal Latin Jazz@8.30pm Saturday the 24th; Sunday Sessions at the Madrone Art Bar (www.madroneartbar.com) with Wil Blades (www.wilblades.com) Sunday the 25th; and Mike Olmos@the Club Deluxe (www.clubdeluxe.com), 1511 Haight Street, SF, Monday the 26th June, 9.30pm. Got ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com), commentary, and more, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June 2017, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: June 19th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

The 20th June is “International World Refugee Day”. It is also Martyr Day in Eritrea. Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”, as we remember the Detroit Race Riots of 1943, the independence of the Mali Federation in 1960, and the 45th anniversary of the “Watergate Scandal”. We salute the birthdays of several: activist, attorney and author Charles Waddell Chesnutt; trumpeter Thomas Jefferson; reed player and composer, Eric Dolphy; Billy Guy of “The Coasters”; singer, songwriter and producer Brian Wilson; pianist/educator Andre Watts; pianist, singer, songwriter, producer and actor Lionel Ritchie; poet and social philosopher, Athol Williams; and rapper Sage the Gemini. We remember the late Lawrence Payton of the Four Tops. Events for the week include: Denise Perrier (www.deniseperrier.com)@ Castagnoli’s Restaurant & Bar, 5pm – 8pm, Tuesday the 20th; Paul Thom Hammer & Nail 20th Anniversary Tour@The Freight and Salvage (www.thefreight.org) Wednesday the 21st; Topsy’s Fun House (www.topsyssf.com) has live music, food and fun Thursday the 22nd; Fall 2017 entering 8th graders to 12th graders can get either free drum or free guitar lessons at the Mix@SFPL–Main Branch, 4pm – 4.30pm, Friday the 23rd; La Peña’s 42nd Year Anniversary Party – Pasto Seco Band & Monreal Latin Jazz@8.30pm Saturday the 24th; Sunday Sessions at the Madrone Art Bar (www.madroneartbar.com) with Wil Blades (www.wilblades.com) Sunday the 25th; and Mike Olmos@the Club Deluxe (www.clubdeluxe.com), 1511 Haight Street, SF, Monday the 26th June, 9.30pm. Got ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com), commentary, and more, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June 2017, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: June 18th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi