go to homepage

“For the People”

Archive for the ‘documentary storytelling’ Category

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 30th January, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” In addition to commentary from Mumia Abu-Jamal, “For the People” continues to share material from the NYC Winter JazzFest and Jazz Congress (occurring earlier this month), including the keynote speech by Kareem Abdul-Jabar. We bid farewell to one of my favourite South African artists–Hugh Masekela. Time permitting, “For the People” will also air the panel discussion on Jazz and Race (recorded at the Jazz Congress in NYC a few weeks ago). Moreover, there will be ticket offerings for Scottish-born, former Tower of Power tenor saxophonist, Richard Elliot (www.richardelliot.com), who appears this week in Oakland at Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com). That and more, Tuesday the 30th January, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: January 30th, 2018 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 2nd January, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” featuring a conversation with Brice Rosenbloom, organiser of NYC Winter JazzFest (www.winterjazzfest.com), as we highlight this year’s WJF, coming up in NYC next week. Additionally, there will be ticket offerings for this week for contemporary jazz guitarist Nils, featuring Tony Saunders, bassist extraordinaire, who collaborate on Wednesday the 3rd. Got ticket offerings, too, for Friday the 5th for the Grammy-Award winning Pacific Mambo Orchestra, San Francisco Bay Area-based Latin Big Band (www.pacificmambo.com), Sunday the 7th with Nothing But the Sax, as well as Tuesday the 9th with the Tommy Igoe Big Band (www.tommyigoe.com), all happening at Yoshi’s in Oakland’s Jack London Square (www.yoshis.com). That, commentary, and more, as we kick off the first programme of 2018, Tuesday the 2nd January, on KPOO, San Francisco, 89.5FM (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: January 2nd, 2018 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 26th December, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” as we close out this year of Tuesday afternoons with a farewell salute to longtime San Francisco Bay Area radio broadcaster, Rev. Dr. Sheila Robinson who, after more than four decades, has decided to return to the east coast. There will be more music from the Caesar Frazier Quartet (www.caesarfrazier.com). Truly a remarkable story regarding Mr. Frazier who, following a 40-year hiatus, has returned to the music scene with an album (“Instinct,” on the Doodlin’ label, October 2017), that initially charted at number 220 and is now ranked in the top ten on the JazzWeek chart (www.jazzweek.com). We will have plenty good inspirational, toe-tapping and hand-clapping gospel music; commentary; as well as new music from Cynthia Hilts and Lyric Fury (www.cynthiahilts). “For the People” also gets back to the birthday salute to Little Richard, who went 85 on the 5th December. That and more, Tuesday the 26th December, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Co-produced and co-hosted by Rev. Dr. Sheila Robinson (sheilarob@gmail.com) and Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: December 26th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 19th December, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” as we remember jazz vocalist Kevin Mahogany (www.kevinmahogany.com). “For the People” also gets back to the birthday salute to Little Richard, who went 85 on the 5th December. There will be commentary, as well as new music from Cynthia Hilts and Lyric Fury (www.cynthiahilts.com). Notable events this week include: the 19th December, Don Alberts Trio (Jazz Piano)@Mr. Tipple Recording Studio (www.mrtipplessf.com); the 20th December, Alvon (www.alvon.com) at the Blue Note Napa (www.bluenotenapa.com); the 21st December, young people’s mic at La Pena (www.lapena.com); the 22nd December, Rexx Life Raj Iman Europe, DJ Flow & Mani Draper, Mikos da Gawd, JuLia Lewis, DJ ShellHeart, at the New Parish (www.thenewparish.com)the 23rd December, Elvin Bishop (www.elvinbishopmusic.com) at the Freight & Salvage, and on the 23rd Blackalicious presents holiday rappin’ with The Gift of Gab & Chief Xcel; the 24th December, Return of the Cypher, Free live HipHopParty ~ [Hip Hop, Live Rap, Emcees, DJs, Live Musicians, BreakDance, Lyrical Battles…] A Bad-Azzz OG Party every Sunday Nite (9PM – 2AM) @ the Boom Boom Room (www.boomboomroom.com); and on Monday the 25th December—give thanks! Talking about that and more, Tuesday the 19th December, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: December 19th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 5th December, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” as we pay homage to an incomparable living legend: Richard Wayne Penniman. Little Richard goes 85 on the 5th December–and he looks stunning. Additionally, there will be ticket offerings for Keiko Matsui (http://www.keikomatsui.com) and Euge Groove (http://www.eugegroove.com), who team up this week at Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com). That and more, Tuesday the 5th December, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: December 5th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“Fo the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 28th November, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People”. Multiple award-winning musician, composer, arranger and conductor, Gordon Goodwin (http://www.gordongoodwin.com), joins us to talk about Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band, an 18-piece orchestra performing this week at Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com), and yes—Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band does have a very phat sound. Also, exceptionally creative twins Kehinde and Taiwo Kujichagulia–Seitu come in to discuss the upcoming sixth annual tribute to Harriet Tubman, as well as the second annual Jazzy Nutcracker, set to Ellington’s “Nutcracker Suite.” And, going to get back to the 21st November, celebrating the birthday of David Porter, while remembering the true boogie-woogie queen, Hadda Brooks. That and more, Tuesday the 28th November, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: November 28th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday the 14th November 2017, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Events of note include the first Black child, Ruby Bridges, and her brave role to integrate the first Louisiana elementary school on the 14th November 1960. Got more music from the newly-released CD, “Instinct,” featuring the Caesar Frazier Quartet on Doodlin’ Records. There are plenty birthdays on the 14th November, including the 83rd birthday of pianist Ellis Marsalis (www.ellismarsalis.com). And we remember the crossing over of Booker T. Washington and Gwen Ifill. Hear that and more on KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday the 14th November 2017, between 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com). Oh, and notable events for the week: on the 14th November, SF State School of Music present A/B Duo New Music in a free concert at the Knuth Music Hall, SF State University at 7:30pm; on the 15th November, Petula Clark (www.petulaclark.net) celebrates her 85th birthday at the Blue Note Napa (www.bluenotenapa.com) at 6.30pm and 8.30pm; on the 16th November, La Pena Cultural Centre (www.lapena.org) will highlight Young People’s Mic at 6pm (designed specifically for youth under 18); on the 17th November, the Kuumbwa Jazz Centre in Santa Cruz (www.kuumbwajazz.org) will host Bill Frisell (www.billfrisell.com) at 7pm and 9pm; on the 18th November, Guarandinga: Latin Afro-Pop appear at the Red Poppy Art House in San Francisco (www.redpoppyarthouse.org) at 7pm; on the 19th November, the Fred Randolph Quintet (www.fredrandolph.com) step forth at the Sound Room in Oakland (www.soundroom.org) at 2.30pm; and on the 20th November, the UC Jazz Fall Concert 50th Anniversary Year Celebration will happen at the Freight and Salvage in Berkeley (www.thefreight.org) at 8pm.
Posted on: November 12th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 7th November 2017, “For the People,” 4pm – 6pm, PST. Sharing a conversation between Afrikahn Jahmal Dayvs (https://jzl1.wordpress.com), Mads Tolling (www.madstolling.com), and Graal Swartz of the Soul Mechanix (www.soulmechanix.com). Just back back from the farewell celebration for Fats Domino, our in-studio guest, Mitch Woods (www.mitchwoods.com), joins us to talk about that, his new CD and an upcoming performance at Biscuits and Blues (www.biscuitsandblues.com). There will be ticket giveaways for both Biscuits and Blues as well as Yoshi’s )www.yoshis.com). That and more Tuesday the 7th November, on KPOO, San Francisco, “For the People,” 4pm – 6pm, PST. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: November 7th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 31 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD–Instinct–by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). Then, it will be nearly two hours of bewitching, ghostly, grueling and haunting sounds on All Hallows’ Eve. Hear that and more, Tuesday the 31st October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Co-hosted and co-produced by Rockin’ Jim Rigsbee (grooveyardjim1@yahoo.com) and Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 31st, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 24 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD, Instinct, by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). We pay homage to Grady Tate (http://www.gradytate.com), who joined the ancestors earlier this month. During the second half of the programme, Bay Area treasure, R & B legend, composer/arranger, drummer/percussionist and singer/songwriter Larry Vann (http://www.larryvann.com) joins us in-studio to discuss his upcoming performance. That and more, Tuesday the 24th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 23rd, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi