go to homepage

“For the People”

Archive for the ‘events’ Category

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 24 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD, Instinct, by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). We pay homage to Grady Tate (http://www.gradytate.com), who joined the ancestors earlier this month. During the second half of the programme, Bay Area treasure, R & B legend, composer/arranger, drummer/percussionist and singer/songwriter Larry Vann (http://www.larryvann.com) joins us in-studio to discuss his upcoming performance. That and more, Tuesday the 24th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 23rd, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 17 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear new music from the newly recorded CD, “Instinct,” by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). Meklit (http://www.meklitmusic.com) joins us in-studio to discuss her upcoming performance Friday the 20th at the New Parish in Oakland (http://www.thenewparish.com). There will be ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com), which features the monthly visit from resident artist Tommy Igoe (http://www.tommyigoe.com). Other events to look forward to this week include: the Don Alberts Trio (http://www.donalberts.com) Tuesday the 17th at Mr. Tipple’s Recording Studio (http://www.mrtipplessf.com); Randy Weston (http://www.randyweston.info) Wednesday the 18th at the SF Conservatory of Music; Lavay Smith & Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers (http://www.lavaysmith.com) Saturday the 21st at Biscuits and Blues (http://biscuitsandblues.com); and Folk Fights Back Bay Area for Racial Justice Sunday 22nd at the Back Room in Berkeley (http://www.backroommusic.com), a benefit for racial justice to support the Ella Baker Centre, featuring artists like the Oakland Youth Chorus (http://www.oaklandyouthchorus.org), and the Dynamic Miss Faye Carol (http://www.fayecarol.com). Hear about that and more, Tuesday the 17th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 17th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to KPOO, San Francisco, 89.5FM (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 25th July, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People,” with in-studio guest author Bev Atchison. Sausalito Arts Festival is coming up early September, so we feature past performer and multiple Grammy award winner, Jimmy Cliff, who is celebrating a birthday. Got ticket offerings for Yoshi’s, as well as commentary and more. Hear it all Tuesday the 25th July on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: July 25th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

The 20th June is “International World Refugee Day”. It is also Martyr Day in Eritrea. Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”, as we remember the Detroit Race Riots of 1943, the independence of the Mali Federation in 1960, and the 45th anniversary of the “Watergate Scandal”. We salute the birthdays of several: activist, attorney and author Charles Waddell Chesnutt; trumpeter Thomas Jefferson; reed player and composer, Eric Dolphy; Billy Guy of “The Coasters”; singer, songwriter and producer Brian Wilson; pianist/educator Andre Watts; pianist, singer, songwriter, producer and actor Lionel Ritchie; poet and social philosopher, Athol Williams; and rapper Sage the Gemini. We remember the late Lawrence Payton of the Four Tops. Events for the week include: Denise Perrier (www.deniseperrier.com)@ Castagnoli’s Restaurant & Bar, 5pm – 8pm, Tuesday the 20th; Paul Thom Hammer & Nail 20th Anniversary Tour@The Freight and Salvage (www.thefreight.org) Wednesday the 21st; Topsy’s Fun House (www.topsyssf.com) has live music, food and fun Thursday the 22nd; Fall 2017 entering 8th graders to 12th graders can get either free drum or free guitar lessons at the Mix@SFPL–Main Branch, 4pm – 4.30pm, Friday the 23rd; La Peña’s 42nd Year Anniversary Party – Pasto Seco Band & Monreal Latin Jazz@8.30pm Saturday the 24th; Sunday Sessions at the Madrone Art Bar (www.madroneartbar.com) with Wil Blades (www.wilblades.com) Sunday the 25th; and Mike Olmos@the Club Deluxe (www.clubdeluxe.com), 1511 Haight Street, SF, Monday the 26th June, 9.30pm. Got ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com), commentary, and more, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June 2017, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: June 19th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

The 20th June is “International World Refugee Day”. It is also Martyr Day in Eritrea. Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”, as we remember the Detroit Race Riots of 1943, the independence of the Mali Federation in 1960, and the 45th anniversary of the “Watergate Scandal”. We salute the birthdays of several: activist, attorney and author Charles Waddell Chesnutt; trumpeter Thomas Jefferson; reed player and composer, Eric Dolphy; Billy Guy of “The Coasters”; singer, songwriter and producer Brian Wilson; pianist/educator Andre Watts; pianist, singer, songwriter, producer and actor Lionel Ritchie; poet and social philosopher, Athol Williams; and rapper Sage the Gemini. We remember the late Lawrence Payton of the Four Tops. Events for the week include: Denise Perrier (www.deniseperrier.com)@ Castagnoli’s Restaurant & Bar, 5pm – 8pm, Tuesday the 20th; Paul Thom Hammer & Nail 20th Anniversary Tour@The Freight and Salvage (www.thefreight.org) Wednesday the 21st; Topsy’s Fun House (www.topsyssf.com) has live music, food and fun Thursday the 22nd; Fall 2017 entering 8th graders to 12th graders can get either free drum or free guitar lessons at the Mix@SFPL–Main Branch, 4pm – 4.30pm, Friday the 23rd; La Peña’s 42nd Year Anniversary Party – Pasto Seco Band & Monreal Latin Jazz@8.30pm Saturday the 24th; Sunday Sessions at the Madrone Art Bar (www.madroneartbar.com) with Wil Blades (www.wilblades.com) Sunday the 25th; and Mike Olmos@the Club Deluxe (www.clubdeluxe.com), 1511 Haight Street, SF, Monday the 26th June, 9.30pm. Got ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com), commentary, and more, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 20th June 2017, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People”. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: June 18th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 13th June, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People,” continuing to celebrate Black Music Month with something from the late Sun Ra, KPOO’s own Ms. Barbara Gainer and the conclusion of the material featuring Archie Shepp, who went 80 back on the 24th May. Notable events for the week: “Janis Joplin” at the A.C.T. Theatre (www.act.org) 13 June; Tia Carroll (www.tiacarroll.com) at Biscuits and Blues (www.biscuitsandblues.com) 14 June; Lakou Mizik (www.lakoumizik.com) at the Freight & Salvage (www.thefreight.com) 15 June; Fandango Jarocho – Son Jarocho Jam Session at La Pena (www.lapena.org) 16 June; Amy Winehouse Tribute Band at Mr. Tipples (www.mrtipples.com) 17 June; Sunday Sessions with Wil Blades (www.wilblades.com) at the Madrone Art Bar (www.madroneart bar.com) on the 18 June; and Larry Vuckovich (www.larryvuckovich.com) at Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com) 19 June. Cheque it out, Tuesday the 13th June, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: June 12th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 6th June, 4pm – 6pm, PDT, ”For the People.” In-studio guest Tonya Amos will discuss the Grown Women Dance Collective’s 8th Annual Fallen Heroes, Rising Stars: A Juneteenth Celebration Through Dance, coming up the 24th and 25th at the Malonga Casquelourd Centre for the Arts (www.mccatheater.com), in downtown Oakland. We remember Ted Lewis, Jimmy Lunceford, Marvin Isley and Levi Stubbs. We salute Monty Alexander, Gary ‘U.S.’ Bonds, Jimmy Jam, and Tommie Smith, all born 6 June. That and more, including ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (www.yoshis.com), Tuesday the 6th June on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: June 5th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi