go to homepage

For the People

Archive for the ‘interviews’ Category

For the People

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 23rd January, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Bevan Atkinson joins us in-studio to discuss her latest novel and upcoming book tour. We may have local (street) musicians join us. And, “For the People” continues to share material from the NYC Winter JazzFest and Jazz Congress (which occurred a couple of weeks ago), including the keynote speech by Kareem Abdul-Jabar. That and more, on KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: January 23rd, 2018 by Safi wa Nairobi

For the People

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 9th January, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” featuring a conversation with TJ Woodward (www.tjwoodward.com), Richard Howell (www.wireonfire.com/richardhowell) and Nicole Mitchell (www.nicolemitchell.com), resident artist this year for NYC Winter JazzFest 2018 (www.winterjazzfest.com). We continue to highlight this year’s WJF, coming up in NYC this week. Additionally, there will be ticket offerings for Monty Alexander (www.montyalexander.com), who performs o nthe 16th January at Yoshi’s in Oakland’s Jack London Square (www.yoshis.com). That, commentary, and more, on the second programme of 2018, Tuesday the 9th January, on KPOO, San Francisco, 89.5FM (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: January 9th, 2018 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 2nd January, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” featuring a conversation with Brice Rosenbloom, organiser of NYC Winter JazzFest (www.winterjazzfest.com), as we highlight this year’s WJF, coming up in NYC next week. Additionally, there will be ticket offerings for this week for contemporary jazz guitarist Nils, featuring Tony Saunders, bassist extraordinaire, who collaborate on Wednesday the 3rd. Got ticket offerings, too, for Friday the 5th for the Grammy-Award winning Pacific Mambo Orchestra, San Francisco Bay Area-based Latin Big Band (www.pacificmambo.com), Sunday the 7th with Nothing But the Sax, as well as Tuesday the 9th with the Tommy Igoe Big Band (www.tommyigoe.com), all happening at Yoshi’s in Oakland’s Jack London Square (www.yoshis.com). That, commentary, and more, as we kick off the first programme of 2018, Tuesday the 2nd January, on KPOO, San Francisco, 89.5FM (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: January 2nd, 2018 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 26th December, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” as we close out this year of Tuesday afternoons with a farewell salute to longtime San Francisco Bay Area radio broadcaster, Rev. Dr. Sheila Robinson who, after more than four decades, has decided to return to the east coast. There will be more music from the Caesar Frazier Quartet (www.caesarfrazier.com). Truly a remarkable story regarding Mr. Frazier who, following a 40-year hiatus, has returned to the music scene with an album (“Instinct,” on the Doodlin’ label, October 2017), that initially charted at number 220 and is now ranked in the top ten on the JazzWeek chart (www.jazzweek.com). We will have plenty good inspirational, toe-tapping and hand-clapping gospel music; commentary; as well as new music from Cynthia Hilts and Lyric Fury (www.cynthiahilts). “For the People” also gets back to the birthday salute to Little Richard, who went 85 on the 5th December. That and more, Tuesday the 26th December, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Co-produced and co-hosted by Rev. Dr. Sheila Robinson (sheilarob@gmail.com) and Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: December 26th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 5th December, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People,” as we pay homage to an incomparable living legend: Richard Wayne Penniman. Little Richard goes 85 on the 5th December–and he looks stunning. Additionally, there will be ticket offerings for Keiko Matsui (http://www.keikomatsui.com) and Euge Groove (http://www.eugegroove.com), who team up this week at Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com). That and more, Tuesday the 5th December, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: December 5th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“Fo the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (http://www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 28th November, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People”. Multiple award-winning musician, composer, arranger and conductor, Gordon Goodwin (http://www.gordongoodwin.com), joins us to talk about Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band, an 18-piece orchestra performing this week at Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com), and yes—Gordon Goodwin’s Big Phat Band does have a very phat sound. Also, exceptionally creative twins Kehinde and Taiwo Kujichagulia–Seitu come in to discuss the upcoming sixth annual tribute to Harriet Tubman, as well as the second annual Jazzy Nutcracker, set to Ellington’s “Nutcracker Suite.” And, going to get back to the 21st November, celebrating the birthday of David Porter, while remembering the true boogie-woogie queen, Hadda Brooks. That and more, Tuesday the 28th November, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, 4pm – 6pm, PST, “For the People.” Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: November 28th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco (www.kpoo.com), Tuesday the 7th November 2017, “For the People,” 4pm – 6pm, PST. Sharing a conversation between Afrikahn Jahmal Dayvs (https://jzl1.wordpress.com), Mads Tolling (www.madstolling.com), and Graal Swartz of the Soul Mechanix (www.soulmechanix.com). Just back back from the farewell celebration for Fats Domino, our in-studio guest, Mitch Woods (www.mitchwoods.com), joins us to talk about that, his new CD and an upcoming performance at Biscuits and Blues (www.biscuitsandblues.com). There will be ticket giveaways for both Biscuits and Blues as well as Yoshi’s )www.yoshis.com). That and more Tuesday the 7th November, on KPOO, San Francisco, “For the People,” 4pm – 6pm, PST. Produced and hosted by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: November 7th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 31 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD–Instinct–by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). Then, it will be nearly two hours of bewitching, ghostly, grueling and haunting sounds on All Hallows’ Eve. Hear that and more, Tuesday the 31st October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Co-hosted and co-produced by Rockin’ Jim Rigsbee (grooveyardjim1@yahoo.com) and Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 31st, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 24 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear music from the newly recorded CD, Instinct, by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). We pay homage to Grady Tate (http://www.gradytate.com), who joined the ancestors earlier this month. During the second half of the programme, Bay Area treasure, R & B legend, composer/arranger, drummer/percussionist and singer/songwriter Larry Vann (http://www.larryvann.com) joins us in-studio to discuss his upcoming performance. That and more, Tuesday the 24th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 23rd, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi

“For the People”

Tune in to 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, Tuesday 17 October 2017, 4pm – 6pm PDT, “For the People.” Hear new music from the newly recorded CD, “Instinct,” by keyboardist, singer, songwriter Caesar Frazier (http://www.caesarfrazier.com). Meklit (http://www.meklitmusic.com) joins us in-studio to discuss her upcoming performance Friday the 20th at the New Parish in Oakland (http://www.thenewparish.com). There will be ticket giveaways for Yoshi’s (http://www.yoshis.com), which features the monthly visit from resident artist Tommy Igoe (http://www.tommyigoe.com). Other events to look forward to this week include: the Don Alberts Trio (http://www.donalberts.com) Tuesday the 17th at Mr. Tipple’s Recording Studio (http://www.mrtipplessf.com); Randy Weston (http://www.randyweston.info) Wednesday the 18th at the SF Conservatory of Music; Lavay Smith & Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers (http://www.lavaysmith.com) Saturday the 21st at Biscuits and Blues (http://biscuitsandblues.com); and Folk Fights Back Bay Area for Racial Justice Sunday 22nd at the Back Room in Berkeley (http://www.backroommusic.com), a benefit for racial justice to support the Ella Baker Centre, featuring artists like the Oakland Youth Chorus (http://www.oaklandyouthchorus.org), and the Dynamic Miss Faye Carol (http://www.fayecarol.com). Hear about that and more, Tuesday the 17th October, on 89.5FM, KPOO, San Francisco, (http://www.kpoo.com), 4pm – 6pm, PDT, “For the People.” Hosted and produced by Safi wa Nairobi (safi@kpoo.com).
Posted on: October 17th, 2017 by Safi wa Nairobi